Day One – 30 Days of Minimalism

So, it’s 8:00 a.m. on April 1st and that means it’s time to start Into Mind’s 30-Day Minimalism Challenge.

I need to switch the order up a bit in the first week, as does my friend who is doing this with me (she’s going to keep me honest and accountable through this), due to work and family needs. So today, my challenge is to “declutter my digital life”. According to Anuschka’s guidelines, I am to take care of my digital clutter today by Spring-cleaning my desktop, delete any files I don’t need anymore, and set up a simple, no-fuss folder structure.

I have to be upfront and say that this particular challenge will be easy for me, for the most part. As I mentioned yesterday, I hate stuff and that includes unneeded digital stuff. But there’s always room for improvement in everything that we do in life, so it will be interesting to approach this with a focused mind.

Since I don’t really use a desktop computer at home, I’ll be attacking the digital clutter on my work computer and also my social media. I actually started some of this yesterday – I brought the number people I follow on twitter down to 213 from 237, and I purged another 50 or so folks last week.

There is one area of my digital life that needs some attention though: email. Anuschka doesn’t mention cleaning up our email, but this is probably because she doesn’t get 200+ emails a day like some of us do (seriously, it’s madness). This is where I’ll focus most of my efforts today and I’m dreading this a little bit…which is a sign that it needs to be done.

I’m pretty good about staying on top of it all, but I have email that needs to be sorted going back to early February right now. And I’ve already received/deleted 60 emails this morning. Gah! Clearly, this is a source of stress for me. But I can’t simply stop it – because mommy needs her paycheque. So I have to find a way to manage it.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

