Welcome

Here’s to new beginnings.

If I could raise a glass right now, that’s how I would toast this moment. But it’s the middle of the day and I don’t keep a bottle of wine in my purse. That’s where I keep my toddler’s change of clothes – am I right, parents?

Here’s the deal. My life is fantastic: great kids, great husband, great job, great house, great city…everything’s great. Except, that it’s not always. Friends, I am exhausted with a capital E multiplied by infinity.

You know that feeling you get in your stomach when you’re about to do something exciting or scary? I have butterflies in my tummy almost all the time. I know what this is – it’s stress. And I need to do something about it.

In the past, I’ve thrived in stressful situations, even happily welcomed them into my life. Until now, I’ve always been able to hunker down and plough through mountains of chaos. But as I near 40, my love of Crazy is starting to drive me crazy and I feel…uneasy.

I need peace. So, I’m going to use this space to write about my search for some calm in my life. Because, look, I’m also not delusional.  As a working mom with a young family, I know this is not going to be easy.

I’m also not interested in being Zen Mommy or losing my edge, entirely. That’s part of what makes me “me”. But, I do believe there must be ways I can reduce the messiness in my life and manage the stress it creates.

As part of my journey, on April 1 I’m going to start Into Mind’s 30-day minimalism challenge. To be honest, some of what is proposed in that challenge is terrifying (No internet for a whole day?!). But I’m hoping it will identify the elements in my life that are hurting and not helping me.

Let’s go! But, peacefully. Shhhhhh.

Leave a Reply

